Tender Human
Men, Myself, & I: Revelations of an Open Marriage (a Memoir and How Not To)
Chapter 21: Situation
0:00
-10:29

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Tender Human

Chapter 21: Situation

I just needed to know what happened to my husband. He was different, like he’d discovered a secret world, and he seemed to be staking a new claim to his privacy.

Jack’s first serious date was a cold night in the middle of December a few days before our fifth wedding anniversary. The things he told me in advance:

He met his date online.

His date was 27 and liked older men.

They were going to meet for a drink to see if they clicked.

His date was, for the first time in Jack’s life, a man.

“Okay!” I said nervously as he was getting ready to leave. “Have, um, fun! Don’t do anything I wouldn’t do.”

There wasn’t enough this statement excluded.

I asked if they were going to have sex. Jack said it was probably just a meet and greet. After he left, I focused on Asher.

“Daddy’s meeting a friend for dinner, honey.”

I didn’t bother with the protein-vegetable push at dinner time. If he wanted mac and cheese with tortilla chips and a plain hamburger bun, fine. I tried not to look at my phone while he ate dinner. I tried to rally my spirits after he finished by singing the bath time song we sang most nights.

“It’s bath time, it’s bath time, it’s time to take a bath…”

Objectively speaking, I was glad for Jack that he was going to get to fulfill his curiosity, or at least he’d get to savor the potential. I was curious what would happen. I wondered what his date was like as a person. But I was also nervous.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Tender Human to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Tender Human
Men, Myself, & I: Revelations of an Open Marriage (a Memoir and How Not To)
A brave and searing memoir, Men, Myself, & I: Revelations of an Open Marriage, explores the urges, satisfactions, and ultimate consequences of opening a previously monogamous marriage