Tender Human
Men, Myself, & I: Revelations of an Open Marriage (a Memoir and How Not To)
Chapter 19: bad guy
0:00
-8:45

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Tender Human

Chapter 19: bad guy

This must be how I learned to ignore the rumble of misgivings in my gut when something didn’t feel right.
1

Since I was so young when my mom left him, story is the principal way I got to know my dad. The earliest story I know about him vis-à-vis my own life is that he was annoyed when my mom went into labor with me on a Saturday night because he was tired and didn’t feel like driving from Ellijay, our rural Georgia town, to the city hospital in Gainesville.

The next story in my chronology is of him punching a bedroom door while my mom held me, an infant, in her arms. She said he destroyed the door while I screamed.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Tender Human to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Tender Human
Men, Myself, & I: Revelations of an Open Marriage (a Memoir and How Not To)
A brave and searing memoir, Men, Myself, & I: Revelations of an Open Marriage, explores the urges, satisfactions, and ultimate consequences of opening a previously monogamous marriage