Tender Human
Men, Myself, & I: Revelations of an Open Marriage (a Memoir and How Not To)
Chapter 18: Dirty Work
0:00
-15:23

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Tender Human

Chapter 18: Dirty Work

I wanted to jump and scream and celebrate. I’d been thinking about it for so long, and now I had a golden ticket to do the wrongest thing you can do as a married person.
1

A few weeks after our date at the anonymous bar we headed off on a family vacation, making sure to pack our small library of nonmonogamy books to read poolside. I was not only celebrating the vacation, but the clarity I had gained about closing my reiki practice. The week before we flew out, I moved out of my office. It was a relief. I didn’t realize until I stopped seeing clients how much pressure I had been putting on myself to be perfect for them. If I was going to be wading around in their energetic field during a reiki session, I thought I better be as close to perfect as I could be. Which didn’t make me any “better,” I just felt worse about myself. Especially as I was becoming so preoccupied by (and ashamed of) relationships outside my marriage.

I was celebrating something else, too, if only privately. The Musician was going to be performing that weekend near the resort where we were staying. I’m not sure why I didn’t come right out and admit that I engineered the whole thing, that I had planned our vacation to coincide with their tour. I guess because I still hadn’t realized: there is nothing more powerful than the truth.

Instead of coming out with it, I mentioned it obliquely to Jack as we were brushing our teeth the first night of the trip.

“I saw in the paper The Musician is playing this weekend,” I said, turning on my electric toothbrush.

“This weekend, huh?”

I suspected this was Jack’s shorthand for, “I don’t believe this is a coincidence.”

I talked around my toothbrush in reply, “I know. Isn’t that crazy!”

This was my shorthand for, “Thank you for not making me admit that I did this on purpose.”

We didn’t talk about it again until the morning of the show as I was stirring scrambled eggs on the stovetop.

“Are you planning on going tonight?” Jack asked.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Tender Human to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Tender Human
Men, Myself, & I: Revelations of an Open Marriage (a Memoir and How Not To)
A brave and searing memoir, Men, Myself, & I: Revelations of an Open Marriage, explores the urges, satisfactions, and ultimate consequences of opening a previously monogamous marriage